Vegan gelato on the Westside!

Chocolate cream cheese walnut, pistachio, and mint chocolate chip

Chocolate cream cheese walnut, pistachio, and mint chocolate chip

I love it when I unexpectedly find new allergy-friendly places! While waiting for my movie at the Landmark Theatre in West LA, I wandered across the street for a tea but instead found Maddy’s, a cute new vegan café that serves sandwiches, salads, baked goods and an impressive variety of vegan gelatos. Even though they were closed, the owner was inside and probably saw me boring a hole with my eyes into his gelato display, so he kindly opened up and invited us in.

Boy were we in for a treat! He had a selection of about 15 different flavors, ranging from fruity sorbets (a special limited edition plum from a friendly farm in Northern CA) to rich creamy gelatos. And what was an added bonus was that each flavor had a little (s) or (a) by the name to indicate whether it was made with almond or soy milk – super helpful for someone like me who is allergic to almonds. After a few tastes, I ended up getting the chocolate cream cheese walnut and it was as chocolatey and creamy as I could only hope for. Plus the walnuts added an element of crunch and heartiness. They also had gluten-free cones, which looked great and I was tempted to try, but I didn’t want to overdo it 🙂 I have to say, this was definitely one of the best vegan gelatos/ice creams I have ever had….also I would be remiss not to mention the yummy looking carrot-cake cookie sandwich in the bakery case (you read that right – two carrot-cake flavored cookies sandwiched around a layer of vegan cream), but alas it wasn’t gluten-free. The owner however assured me that he was working on some gluten-free baked goods so I will definitely be back! What a terrific and indulgent find to cap off the holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

